1 2 3 Margaret_Aylward_pic

The Vincentian Partnership for Social Justice 

Was established in 1995 as a Vincentian initiative for social and economic change tackling poverty and exclusion. The Partnership consists of:

  • The Society of Saint Vincent de Paul.
  • The Vincentian Congregation.
  • The Daughters of Charity.
  • The Sisters of The Holy Faith.

What makes the Partnership distinctive is the Vincentian focus on people who experience disadvantage and the emphasis on doing things together and with, rather than for, people.

The majority of the members of these 4 groups are directly involved, on a full time basis, in responding to the needs of people who are poor or excluded from meaningful participation in society. In order to work for changes in the structures which cause poverty and exclusion, it was decided to establish the Vincentian Partnership for Social Justice in 1996. The Partnership seeks to continue the work of the founding members of the 4 constituent groups – Vincent de Paul (1580 – 1660), Louise de Marillac (1591 – 1660), Margaret Aylward (1810 – 1889), and Frederic Ozanam (1813 – 1853). Each of these people was pioneers in their own time. Each had a great respect for the dignity of every human being and a dynamic commitment to the gospel values of love, compassion and justice. They were creative and innovative in their efforts to create with others a society which promoted human dignity and human rights.

Today the Vincentian Partnership for Social Justice seeks to:

  • Heighten awareness of the suffering and rights of people who are socially and economically disadvantaged.
  • Propose alternative values and structures which help create a more just society.
  • Work for transformation with members of the Partnership and people who are disadvantaged by providing
    leadership and support.
  • Become actively involved in specific social and economic issues.
  • Network with other groups for greater justice in Ireland and in the world.